(888) 228-3860
Se habla español

Call us for a free consultation

cell phone violation ticket wa

Washington State Patrol Issued 6,850 Tickets During First Year of Cell Phone Ban

By Hardwick & Pendergast, P.S. on June 14, 2011

In June 2010, Washington’s legislature made a law that prohibited sending texts or emails on a cell phone while driving into a primary offense, meaning that police could ticket people who violated the law without first having to stop them for another violation, like an illegal lane change or a broken taillight. Since the change a year ago, the Washington State Patrol has issued 6,850 tickets to drivers violating the law, a huge increase from the 1,344 tickets issued before texting became a primary offense.

The law also prohibits holding a cell phone to one’s ear while driving, though drivers can talk on their phones if they use a hands-free device. Drivers who are under age 18 may not use a cell phone in any way while driving, even if it is hands-free. Read the rest »

Recent Blog Posts

Categories

Call us for a free consultation

(888) 228-3860
Se habla español

Backed by our
No Fee Promise

Learn More

Client Reviews

Read More

Case Results

$2,400,000
Degloving Injury
from defective power winch.

$1,925,000
Wrongful Death
from head-on van accident.

$1,925,000
Rollover Accident
resulting in wrongful death.

More results